National Pacemaker Finalist Awards

Both the Manhappenin’ magazine and Collegian newspaper won Pacemaker Finalist awards for best student  publications in the country, in their respective categories for the 2021-2022 academic year. The Pacemaker is  considered the Pulitzer Prize of college journalism. The awards were announced at the national MediaFest 2022  conference in Washington, D.C., Oct. 26-30. 

This is the first time the Associated College Press named “Manhappenin’ a Finalist. The magazine’s adviser, Hallie  Everett, said, “Manhappenin’ is CMG’s (Collegian Media Group) youngest publication so getting this honor for the  first time is especially a big deal.” 

CMG’s Director, Ira David Levy, said, “In one year, all of our publications have been named Pacemaker Finalists.  It’s the hard work of our students that create these recognitions. That work builds their skills and the portfolios that  job recruiters and hiring managers want to see when they apply for internships and jobs.”  

CMG student staffers brought home 18 individual awards for the Collegian, Manhappenin’, Royal Purple yearbook  and CMG’s advertising sales and marketing efforts. Collegian reporter, Alex Hurla, won an Honorable Mention for  newspaper Reporter of the Year, competing against hundreds of students. 

Maggie James, who works as a graphics designer for CMG’s advertising sales department brought home four  awards, placing three times, including Second Place, for Advertisement of the Year. 

CMG Assistant Director Daren Lee Lewis said, “Our advertising department is thrilled to be recognized in several  categories of this year’s awards.” 

The Royal Purple yearbook and Collegian newspaper also won a Top 100 Pacemaker award for having earned the  most Pacemaker awards over 100 years. The Royal Purple won the #1 Top Pacemaker award of all time.  

“All students need to know that learning journalism skills will help to advance their careers no matter what industry  they choose to enter. We’re here to train and prepare you. Come join us,” Levy said. 

Complete 18 Award Categories

Associated Collegiate Press

Reporter of the Year; Honorable Mention; Alex Hurla (the Collegian) 

Print Advertisement of the Year; Honorable Mention; Maggie James 

Digital Advertisement of the Year; Honorable Mention; Maggie James 

Digital Advertisement of the Year; 3rd Place; Maggie James 

Print Advertisement of the Year; Honorable Mention; Dominique Fraenkel  

Best Social Media Campaign; Honorable Mention; Dominique Fraenkel 

Best Media Kit; Fourth Place; Dominique Fraenkel 

Best Environmental Portrait; 3rd Place; Dylan Connell (the Collegian) 

Best Multimedia Sports Story; 5th Place; Landon Reinhardt and Claiborn Schmidt (the Collegian) Best Social Media Reporting; Honorable Mention; Marshall Sunner and Alyssa Fullington Best Yearbook Cover; 2nd Place; Amanda Wollensen (Royal Purple) 

College Media Association

Best Display Advertisement; Honorable Mention; Dominique Fraenkel (Manhappenin’) 

Best House Advertisement; 2nd Place; Maggie James (the Collegian) 

Best Magazine Sports Spread; Honorable Mention; Sarah Onken, Maddie Fankhauser, Julia Smith (Manhappenin’) Best Yearbook Cover; 2nd Place; Amanda Wollensen (Royal Purple) 

Best Yearbook News Page Spread; 3rd Place; Zachary Parr (Royal Purple) 

Best General News Photo; Honorable Mention; Elizabeth Sandstrom (the Collegian) 

Best Sports Game Story; Honorable Mention; Joshua Read (the Collegian) 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *