Collegian Media Group places 10 entries and 11 total students in Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence contest

Junior running back Alex Barnes leaps over defenders while running the ball in K-State’s football game against Oklahoma State in Bill Snyder Family Stadium on Oct. 13, 2018. The Wildcats defeated the Cowboys 31-12. (Logan Wassall | Collegian Media Group)

In December 2018, the winners for the Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence contest were announced. In the fall of 2017, the Collegian Media Group placed five total entries in the contest in our first year competing. Most notably, we were the only collegiate student publications group in Kansas to enter journalism work against professional writers, designers and photographers from around the state.

For this year’s contest, we were fortunate enough to have 10 total entries place in this highly competitive contest. This affirms that our Collegian Media Group staffers are creating, writing and shooting at an industry standard level.

Please congratulate the following CMG staffers for their tremendous accomplishments:
First Place, News Story, Alec Madrigal, The Collegian
First Place, Best Story/Picture Combination, Laken Horton, Alanud Alanazi, Olivia Bergmeier, Manhappenin’ magazine
First Place, Sports Photo, Olivia Bergmeier, The Collegian
First Place, Photo Illustration, Sarah Emry, Meg Shearer, Alexcia Rodriguez, Manhappenin’ magazine
First Place, Best Magazine (Daily Division and Non-daily Division), Manhappenin’ magazine
First Place, Best Specialty Ad, Allie Deiter, The Collegian
Second Place, Feature Photo, Meg Shearer, Manhappenin’ magazine
Second Place, Sports Photo, Logan Wassall, The Collegian
Third Place, Spot News Photo, Olivia Bergmeier, The Collegian
Third Place, Best Entertainment Ad, Acacia Thalmann, The Collegian